Ann Jennings

1111 East Broad Street, 4th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Tel. (804) 786-0044
The Secretary of Natural Resources advises the Governor on natural resources issues and works to advance the Governor's top environmental priorities. The Secretary oversees six agencies that protect and restore the Commonwealth's natural and historic resources. The Secretary's office and all of the natural resources agencies work together to uphold the provisions of Article XI of the Virginia Constitution:

To the end that the people have clean air, pure water, and the use and enjoyment for recreation of adequate public lands, waters, and other natural resources, it shall be the policy of the Commonwealth to conserve, develop, and utilize its natural resources, its public lands, and its historical sites and buildings.

Further, it shall be the Commonwealth's policy to protect its atmosphere, lands, and waters from pollution, impairment, or destruction, for the benefit, enjoyment, and general welfare of the people of the Commonwealth.
Secretary Ann Jennings
Former Secretary Matthew Strickler
Deputy Secretary Josh Saks
Assistant Secretary Meryem Karad
Senior Policy Advisor Ellen Bolen
Special Assistant for Policy and Communications and Confidential Assistant Katie Sallee
Department of Conservation and Recreation
600 E. Main Street, 24th Floor
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Tel. (804) 786-6124
Code Reference:
§ 10.1-101
To conserve, protect, enhance, and advocate the wise use of the Commonwealth's unique natural, historic, recreational, scenic, and cultural resources.
Department of Environmental Quality
629 East Main Street
Post Office Box 1105
Richmond, Virginia 23219
Tel. (804) 698-4000
Code Reference:
§ 10.1-1183
Implement Virginia's air, water, waste management, and other environmental laws. Enhance, preserve, and protect Virginia's natural, scenic, and historic environment for the people of the Commonwealth; reduce the levels of pollutants in Virginia's environment; ensure timeliness, consistency, and quality in all permitting; improve public understanding of and participation in all environmental issues and decision-making; perform comprehensive natural resource planning, policy analysis, and coordination; and ensure the effective and efficient development and use of agency resources.
Department of Wildlife Resources
7870 Villa Park Drive
Henrico, Virginia 23228
Tel. (804) 367-1000
Code Reference:
§ 29.1-109
To provide public, informational and educational services related to this title, and to serve as the agency responsible for the administration and enforcement of all rules and regulations of the board, the statutory provisions of this title, and related legislative acts. The Department shall employ scientific principles and procedures, as developed, researched, recognized, and accepted within the bounds of comprehensive professional wildlife resource management, in the management of the Commonwealth's wildlife and natural resources.
Department of Historic Resources
2801 Kensington Avenue
Richmond, Virginia 23221
Tel. (804) 367-2323
Code Reference:
§ 10.1-2201
To encourage, stimulate, and support the identification, evaluation, protection, preservation, and rehabilitation of the Commonwealth's significant historic, architectural, archaeological, and cultural resources.
Marine Resources Commission
2600 Washington Avenue, 3rd Floor
Newport News, Virginia 23607
Tel. (757) 247-2200 ? TTD (757) 247-2292
Code Reference:
§ 28.2-102
The Marine Resources Commission manages saltwater fishing and associated habitat, for both recreational and commercial species. Commission staff work to create and maintain sustainable fisheries for the benefit of all anglers and the ecosystem. The Agency also manages water bottoms in public trust for the citizens of the Commonwealth. The Habitat Management Division works with citizens who wish to use water areas for piers or other water dependent projects. All management activity must balance both public and private interests. The Law Enforcement Division, known as the Virginia Marine Police, patrols the waterways to enforce applicable laws and regulations, assists citizens in need, has homeland defense duties at the Ports of Hampton Roads and is part of the State's emergency preparedness team. Primary statutory authority for the Marine Resources Commission is found in Title 28.2 of the Code of Virginia, entitled Fisheries and Habitat of the Tidal Waters.
Virginia Council on Environmental Justice
§ 2.2-2699.9
The purpose of the Council is to advise the Governor and provide recommendations that maintain a foundation of environmental justice principles intended to protect vulnerable communities from disproportionate impacts of pollution.
The Council shall have a total membership of 27 members that shall consist of 21 nonlegislative citizen members and six ex officio members. Nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed by the Governor. The Secretaries of Natural and Historic Resources, Commerce and Trade, Agriculture and Forestry, Health and Human Resources, Education, and Transportation, or their designees, including their agency representatives, shall serve ex officio with nonvoting privileges. Nonlegislative citizen members of the Council shall be residents of the Commonwealth and shall include representatives of (i) American Indian tribes, (ii) community-based organizations, (iii) the public health sector, (iv) nongovernmental organizations, (v) civil rights organizations, (vi) institutions of higher education, and (vii) communities impacted by an industrial, governmental, or commercial operation, program, or policy.

Ex officio members of the Council shall serve terms coincident with their terms of office. Appointments to fill vacancies, other than by expiration of a term, shall be for the unexpired terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments. After the initial staggering of terms, nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for a term of four years. The Council shall elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson annually from among the membership of the Council. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum. The meetings of the Council shall be held at the call of the chairperson or whenever the majority of the members so request.
After the initial staggering of terms, nonlegislative citizen members shall be appointed for a term of four years.
Gubernatorial Appointees:
  • Term Expires
  • Fernando Mercado Violand6/30/2024
  • Lydia Lawrence6/30/2023
  • Andres Alvarez6/30/2023
  • Tom Benevento6/30/2022
  • Harrison J. Wallace6/30/2022
  • Aliya Farooq6/30/2022
  • Theresa L. Burriss6/30/2022
  • Kevin D. Mclean6/30/2022
  • Clarence Tong6/30/2022
  • Michael J. Ellerbrock6/30/2022
  • John Boyd6/30/2025
  • Taysha Devaughan6/30/2024
  • Ronald M. Howell6/30/2025
  • Meryem Karad6/30/2025
  • Kendyl E. Crawley Crawford6/30/2024
  • Phil Hernandez6/30/2024
  • Janet A. Phoenix6/30/2023
  • Faith B. Harris6/30/2023
  • Karen T. Campblin6/30/2023
  • Kathryn E. Maccormick6/30/2023
  • Otis Jones6/30/2023
  • 1/22/2019
Alexandria Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission
Alexandria City Hall
301 King Street
Alexandria, Virginia 22314
Acts of Assembly, 1962, Chapter 481 & Acts of Assembly, 1976, Chapter 173
The purpose of the Alexandria Historical Restoration and Preservation Commission is to acquire, restore, preserve, and maintain facilities in the restorable area of Alexandria in accordance with the restoration period.

The Commission will be composed of seven members appointed as follows: five appointed by the City of Alexandria and two appointed by the Governor.
Four year terms
Gubernatorial Appointees:
  • Term Expires
  • Tiffany L. Pache7/31/2022
  • Taryn E. Anthony7/31/2022

Information accurate as of December 2021